The first assault…

9 Oct

“The PhD is an assault on your confidence…” I was told this on day one by a 3rd Year Ph.D student and didn’t doubt it, though I had expected to get a few more weeks under the belt before I felt it happen. Even the supervisors said this is normal process, another student insisted I’m still further along than most at this stage. But that doesn’t help when you’re used to achieving well, used to being capable of stringing more than three words together in sentences that make sense and possibly even sometimes create some logical, convincing and coherent argument. Not today.

After a week of exploring the proposal it seems like I’m being encouraged to step further away from the topic that drives my passion for the research and step into a territory that I think will pigeonhole me in a way that I don’t want. Whether it’s because I don’t feel any kind of confidence in that area or because I don’t want to feel like I’m allowing 10 years of expertise to just dissolve, I think today is my first experience of having to “push against it”, as fellow student C said. He said he wishes he pushed against the interests of his supervisor a bit more, after all it’s OUR three or four years and OUR chance to carve out the expertise in the topics we’re passionate about.  

But then it’s not like I’m not passionate about all aspects of the topic. Is this assault on the confidence actually related to wanting to stick to what I feel comfortable with, and if I do that am I actually selling myself out and not using the opportunity to get stuck into something so that I really learn and really grow? Is the Ph.D about learning how to research, how to ground research in theory so that it can be justified and respected, or just adding to what I’ve done already?

The first assault has resulted in the task of a month of reading around a topic I enjoy but not the central topic I am desperate to not leave behind… the battle lines are bound to change but they’re looking a little scary at the moment….

Leave a Reply

