The topic…

1 Oct

Passion and commitment to the topic must be central to any Ph.D, whether three, four or five years. Thankfully, I’m not short of either, though sometimes I know my passion can verge more towards over excitement and annoying exuberance!

My topic is current, political, potentially gendered, and based on my own belief in the power of education to shape and build better futures. But I have taken the difficult decision to step away from the practical, pedagogical application and take stock of all that comes before: how our understandings of the world and our place in it shapes our pedagogy and the type of education we promote.

I had arrived at the first meeting desperate to cling on to what I felt confident (*insert, comfortable) with – pedagogy and the role of the teacher. But four days around other Ph.D students must have had some kind of impact because as we discussed the purpose of any Ph.D I realised I had to cut the apron strings and step away from the comfort of pedagogy and push myself to somewhere new where other passions would have the opportunity to ignite and, hopefully, thrive.

The first week and first real discussions showed me that the Ph.D is about learning how to research, how to think and question and reflect in a whole new way, and then apply that practically. So the topic changed a little and morphed into a new shape; it has the same content and passions but has new edges, new dimensions and new opportunities. And new excitements.

Leave a Reply

