The first meeting…

1 Oct

I am incredibly lucky to have two supervisors who have agreed they want to take an equal role in helping to shape my learning and the research experience. Despite this meaning twice the pressure to live up to, I class myself as lucky because they’re both influential and important in their respective fields and that and the end of the slog I’ll have had the experience of two great academics who will have pushed and pushed and probably wanted to throttle me to get the best work done.

But two supervisors makes for quite the first supervisory meeting. Gulp doesn’t quite cut it.

The first meeting is where we set the tone, the expectations, and the fear sets in. Despite one supervisor’s encouraging opening ditty (“I told other students they had to be incredibly passionate about their work and knew I didn’t have to say that to you… I’m so excited for you!”), I still felt the nerves trickle down my spine like drizzle on a drainpipe! The three of us sat around a small table, my original proposal winking from beneath a pile of forms to fill in and agendas, and got ready to set the ball rolling. Suddenly, the whole thing took on a reality that I don’t think I’d allowed myself to acknowledge.

We spent over an hour talking through the expectations they had of me and what I could expect from them. We talked about the process (and I internalised the fear!!), discussed the topic, explored my training and methodology, and agreed on next steps. Apparently, I am now a Ph.D researcher…. with a 1000 word piece of homework and a pretty huge dose of trepidation on one shoulder and excitement on the other.

Leave a Reply

