The proposal

21 Sep

No, not the Sandra Bullock film, the few hundred words detailing my intended research for the next three years and the start of my journey to doctordom. The start of my PhD. The road to somewhere, I hope.

Writing a proposal is exciting, invigorating and awful. My brain swirled in a foggy mist of everything I found interesting but couldn’t include, everything I felt passionate about but probably couldn’t be objective about, and everything I knew I needed to know but had dreaded the realisation of admitting I didn’t know enough about. Or something like that. But I got a title together and even managed to find some people who kind of agreed with things I wanted to say.

When outlining your research, you have to include your methodology. So far I am committed to qualitative AND quantiative methods, and a whole lot of grey literature. So most of the methods of research in the social sciences then. But the strange aspect of writing the research methodology section is that you write in the future tense… I will… this research will… through the use of… I will… I will…. Will I?  

Leave a Reply

